RSS

The magic of sciences

23 Jul

As I have promised in my previous post, I will talk a little about my recent trips.

So, first of all, I went to Geneva.

I understand why Geneva was one of the favorite places for vacation – the landscapes are gorgeous and even in summer, the heat is not unbearable at night. The city is very clean, there is a lot of museums and touristic things.

Leman lake, Geneva

I particularly loved the park by the Leman lake, next to the botanic garden. An interesting surprise was awaiting me there – a museum of the history of sciences.

Do not get me wrong – I have never been particularly gifted and attracted to sciences, but I couldn’t help finding it fascinating – they display an incredible variety of scientific instruments, from the simplest ones to the most elaborate, and all these old instruments have something magical about them.

Just look:

20161127_153809

This is a hand-driven Orrery, designed to demonstrate the motion of the main planets of the solar system made in the second half of XVIII century.  Isn’t is marvelous?

Here are some more science-related wonders:

But do you know what is even more fascinated? In the museum and outside, there are small devices with detailed explanations that anyone can play with to determine, let’s say, the time of the day, or the high of a nearby tree. Have a look:

 

The museum is located in a very beautiful villa. It is open even on Sundays and it is free to visit.

Triggers imagination, doesn’t it? 😉

 

Kateryna Kei, Author of Raven Boy

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2017 in Inspiring, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The magic of sciences

  1. Mili_Fay

    July 23, 2017 at 2:21 pm

    Fun! I sometimes wish I was immortal so that I had time to learn everything. Those objects are great! I’m always fascinated by people who figured out things we simply take for granted.

    I never thought about Geneva as a tourist destination. What famous paintings do they have? Do you know?

    Like

     
  2. katerynakei

    July 24, 2017 at 7:51 pm

    Mili, I totally agree with you 😉 Outside in the park they actually did a beautiful expo of scientists and their discoveries, and they picked up scientists who are not very well known, but whose discoveries are used in everyday life. I didn’t take pictures of them (there were too many), but it was very interesting as well.
    Me too, I have never thought that Geneva was a tourist destination, but apparently it is. They have a lot of unique museums, beautiful parks and gardens, castles and ancient houses. Hotels and restaurants are quite expensive, but the city is clean, there are maps, plans and signs explaining plants, animals, birds and places of interest. In addition, they have free public WC, which are quite clean (and that’s a rare thing in Europe).
    Unfortunately, I did not have enough time to explore the paintings, but I know that in their Musée d’Art et d’Histoire (History and art museum) they have paintings by Konrad Witz, Rembrandt, Cézanne, Modigliani, Jean-Étienne Liotard, Ferdinand Hodler.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
