RSS

JuNoWriMo – my results…

20 Jul

Did I say June was a calm month, suitable for writing? It turned out to be quite the opposite…

I guess, there is some sort of law in the universe that whenever you have a plan to do x, countless temptations will instantly appear to throw you off track!

My intent for JuNoWriMo was to work on a brand new book idea that I dreamed of and to turn it into a book draft. And the first couple of days everything went well.

But then, all of a sudden, all my clients (who had been so silent the last couple of months) suddenly “woke up” and contacted me with new projects and assignments.

For obvious reasons, I could not turn them down (that’s my bread, after all), and I cannot say that there are reasons to complain about it – I have worked in Berlin, Geneva, Prague and Malta in but one month. It was a very reach and unforgettable experience (I’ll talk a bit more about it in the next post), but not for my writing.

As usual, things did not go as planned. I was only able to write 20 000 words (the objective was 50 000, so it’s less than half!). The upshot is that I haven’t given up, even with all my work and traveling. Still, I feel kind of sorry about not being able to take full advantage of the experience: the challenge is very cool, the participants are very talented, friendly and helpful (some of them shared not only helpful tips, but even excerpts of their work, which is awesome ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). It really is the place for progress and growth.

I will definitely participate in other similar challenges, I think.

But now, it’s time to enjoy the well-deserved small vacation ๐Ÿ˜‰

Enjoy your summer! ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Kateryna Kei, Author of Raven Boy

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 20, 2017 in News, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
