RSS

Hero Festival: my experience

15 Dec

On November 7th and 8th I have participated with my book Raven Boy at the first edition of the Hero Festival in Marseille.

logo

It was a very refreshing and inspiring experience.Hero Festival was a unique event from different points of view. It is the second convention in Marseille after the well-known Japan Expo and it was a huge success with over 15000 happy visitors.

I had a stand there for my fiction book, Raven Boy, and I must say, there hardy is a better place for a fiction author to promote and sell his/her books. Here is why:

1. You get great exposure.
Hero Festival had 15000 visitors, without even talking of all the advertisement for the event itself, the exposure that an author can get on the event’s website and other promotional materials.

2. Your potential buyers are gathered there for you.
People who come to the conventions are mostly fiction lovers. They are there to dive into their favorite universes, to become their heroes, to live their dreams. They are eager to discover something new, whether it’s a book or a game, or an experience.

3. You can get an instant feedback.
Of course, most of the people who will come to your stand hasn’t even heard of you. But they can tell you whether your book cover stands out, whether your advertising ideas work and whether your book description is compelling, etc.

4. You will learn how to present your book and talk about it.
Personally, I found it very hard to talk about my book: my main urge was to say something boring and short, something that would stop the conversation about it as soon as possible. The truth is, most of the time, a fiction book feels very personal to its author, and thus it is hard to talk about it. But there I was in front of my potential readers, selling my own book, so my answers and my presentation just had to sound enticing and fascinating. It took me some time and effort to push the limits of my comfort zone far enough to be able to craft an interesting oral presentation and to start really talking about my book. But it was really worth the effort ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. You get a great chance to meet and get to know your readers.
Conventions have that special atmosphere of fiction and fantasy
that inspire people to be more open about their dreams and interests. Most of those who will come to your stand, whether or not they buy your book, will easily talk to you about what they like reading, watching, playing etc., what their hobbies and life style are… If you listen well, you will discover a lot of fascinating clues that can be useful for your promotions, special events and gifts.

It was my first experience with this kind of events, and I liked it very much. I will definitely do it again ๐Ÿ˜‰

20141108_090942

Kateryna Kei, Author ofย Raven Boy, adventure and romance young-adult saga

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2014 in Author Resources, News

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Hero Festival: my experience

  1. Mili_Fay

    December 16, 2014 at 3:35 am

    I’m so happy you had such a positive experience. I’m sure we all want to make back the fee of these events and earn something extra so we can live off our work, but I found that once I stopped stressing about costs and just enjoyed meeting people–events are beautiful!

    I agree with you that it is tough to sell your baby. There is so much that I love about my story that I find it hard not to overwhelm people with different layers that I feel make my book special. Then there is that ingrained modesty to overcome; I was taught never to praise my own work, and now that I have to, it kind of makes me feel ill. ๐Ÿ™‚

    However, meeting people, hearing them praise my work, seeing children’s eyes light up when they look at my illustrations, meeting other exhibitors, trading stories, hanging out with friends,… It’s priceless!

    I can’t wait to read your book! I’ve been looking forward to it for months. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
  2. katerynakei

    December 16, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    Thank you, Mili ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Well, your book is really awesome, I’m loving it! And my eyes are lighting up too when I see your illustrations:-) You are sooooooo talented!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Mili_Fay

    December 16, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    Awwwwww… Thank you. >>huggs<< (I know hugs is spelled with one g, but I think 2 gs make it more huggable.)

    Like

     
  4. katerynakei

    December 17, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    ๐Ÿ˜€ totally agree ๐Ÿ˜‰ huggs to you too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
