RSS

Happy International Authors’ Day!

14 Jul

b

Dear authors! Dear readers! Happy International Author Day!

To celebrate it, here is my gift to all of you – get my action adventure fiction book Raven Boy for FREE:

raven boy

Hurry! it will be available only until July 22nd, 2014!

Go and get it from my web-site


609514_blogI would like to say a huuuge THANK YOU! to all the authors out there for all the great stories they share, for the unforgettable moments of entertainment they provide, for all the life lessons they so generously give us, for stimulating our imagination, for making us travel to magical worlds and dimensions, and finally,
for changing our lives with their messages!


I can spend hours watching someone write. There is something magical about how a person takes a pen, the way he/she holds it in the hand, and then touches the paper with it to produce a series of unique and unexpected strokes that form letters and words. I believe, any piece of handwriting is like a piece of art.

When I started learning to write, we were using fountain pens with long metallic quills that could produce thin, regular lines, but also, if you push them a little harder into the paper, the stroke would widen, creating that gorgeous calligraphic effect. Another curious thing about these pens is that every single one of them is unique. The communication, the relationship you can establish with it will be unique too. I know for sure that for a lot of people the pen they are writing with is very important, especially if they are doing some sort of creative writing. The hand with the pen channel the thoughts and words to the paper and if this channel doesn’t feel right, it can even stop the flow of creativity.

Raven boy_pens
So, to me there is something deeply enjoyable and satisfying in the very process of handwriting that always makes me want to renew the experience.

This desire is even stronger because the world around us triggers a never ending flow of ideas and situations that start evolving and living their own life, turning into stories. And each of them burns and longs to get materialized on paper. These stories and characters that are born in your imagination are somewhat like your children, dear and beloved. You want them out, to let them live, and sometimes this urge is so big that it becomes impossible to resist. And you stop whatever you were doing, take your favorite pen and a notebook, and surrender to the magic of writing.


Kateryna Kei, Author of Raven Boy, adventure and romance young-adult saga

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Happy International Authors’ Day!

  1. D.D.S (@b00kr3vi3ws)

    July 14, 2014 at 5:34 am

    Thank you for joining in the celebrations for IAD!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Mili_Fay

    July 14, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    Thank you for the gift. I’ve already got the book, I only hope I can find some time to read it. I love writing, too. I use to send letters to my family overseas, but with the convenience of Skype we do not write as we did before. I’ve been trying to find a good chisel pen, and I may have discovered a company that makes them. For now, if I want to write calligraphy, I have to go back to my old dip pen and an ink well. πŸ™‚

    Happy Author’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. katerynakei

    July 14, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    πŸ˜‰ it’s my pleasure

    Like

     
  4. nyaran

    July 15, 2014 at 8:15 am

    This was really inspiring. I think I am going to look for my old fountain pen and take up handwriting again! Thank you!

    Like

     
  5. gridleyfires

    July 15, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    I remember those pens. We had inkwells set in our desks. And in rambunctious moments, the pens made great darts. Thanks!

    Like

     
  6. Laura Roberts

    July 15, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with fountain pens. I love to write with them, but I hate how quickly they seem to empty of ink! But I suppose they are a bit more eco-friendly than the disposable plastic kind, since you just have to refill them with more ink, right? I’ve got two at the moment, but I’m still on the lookout for a good black ink. Any suggestions?

    Like

     
  7. bazzi annamaria

    July 15, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    hi kateryna, it’s alway great to meet new authors. thanks to debdatta who put this blog hop together. hopefully this won’t be the only time we meet πŸ™‚

    Like

     
  8. HL Carpenter

    July 16, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    Interesting about the pen you used. Do you write your stories in longhand?

    Like

     
  9. katerynakei

    July 16, 2014 at 10:34 pm

    Thanks, Nyaran! I’m glad you found it inspiring πŸ˜‰

    Like

     
  10. katerynakei

    July 16, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    Laura, thanks for the comment πŸ˜‰ You are right about the problem of the ink running out, but then you can always use a fountain pen with cartridges, which allows you to easily carry some spare ones around. One good black ink that I’ve found was called Da Vinci Code, otherwise I’m mostly using Waterman. Parker is good too, but their cartridges are only fit for their pens.
    Hope that helps πŸ˜‰

    Like

     
  11. katerynakei

    July 16, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    Gridleyfires, that part about darts is a load full of memories ;-))) I didn’t really have a chance to use inkwells in the desks, but it didn’t make it less fun πŸ˜‰

    Like

     
  12. katerynakei

    July 16, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    Thanks Annamaria! I hope that too! πŸ˜‰

    Like

     
  13. katerynakei

    July 16, 2014 at 10:54 pm

    Hi HL Carpenter! I’m happy to see you stepping by again! πŸ˜‰
    Actually yes, I write most of the stories, blog posts, website articles etc., by hand. I just can’t get the needed inspiration while typing. It does add a lot of work, but the handwriting part is still too enjoyable to give up πŸ˜‰

    Like

     
  14. chancelet

    July 17, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    Very interesting topic! I can’t imagine trying to write with one… my writing is already too sloppy, mainly because I try and write so fast. The act of writing, creating words, images, scenes and lives on pages is indeed magical. πŸ™‚ Writer’s Mark

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
